John D. MacDonald – 45 Standalone Novels (Not Travis McGee)

45 standalone novels! Most famous for his Travis McGee series, not many people realize that McDonald also published some forty-five standalone novels outside the Travis McGee franchise, including three science fiction novels as well as at least three collections of short stories. In fact, these novels, many of which were Gold Medal paperback originals, are top-notch and worth reading in their own right.

The Brass Cupcake (1950)

Wine of the Dreamers (1951)

Murder for the Bride (1951)

Judge Me Not (1951)

Weep for Me (1951)

Ballroom of the Skies (1952)

The Damned (1952)

Dead Low Tide (1953)

The Neon Jungle (1953)

Cancel All Our Vows (1953)

Area of Suspicion (1954)

Contrary Pleasure (1954)

A Bullet for Cinderella (aka “On the Make”) (1955)

Cry Hard, Cry Fast (1956)

April Evil (1956)

Border Town Girl (1956)

Murder in the Wind (1956)

You Live Once (aka “You Kill Me”) (1956)

Death Trap (1957)

The Price of Murder (1957)

The Empty Trap (1957)

A Man of Affairs (1957)

The Deceivers (1958)

Clemmie (1958)

The Executioners (aka “Cape Fear”) (1958)

Soft Touch (1958)

Deadly Welcome (1959)

The Beach Girls (1959)

Please Write for Details (1959)

The Crossroads (1959)

Slam the Big Door (1960)

The Only Girl in the Game (1960)

The End of the Night (1960)

Where is Janice Gantry? (1961)

One Monday We Killed Them All (1961)

The Girl, the Gold Watch & Everything (1962)

A Key to the Suite (1962)

A Flash of Green (1962)

I Could Go On Singing (1963)

On the Run (1963)

The Drowner (1963)

The Last One Left (1966)

Condominium (1977)

One More Sunday (1984)

Barrier Island (1986)